Opportunity Zone Eligibility Map Tool

map image
Use this interactive map to find Opportunity Zone census tracts across the U.S.

The 90-day determination period for designating Opportunity Zones began in late December when the Opportunity Zones Program was created in the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act

Governors in each state and U.S. territory (and the Mayor of Washington, D.C.) are now tasked with identifying a certain number of census tracts which will be eligible to receive private investment through the Opportunity Zones Program over the next decade. Every state or territory can designate up to 25% of its census tracts that meet qualification requirements as Opportunity Zones, and the enacting legislation outlines criterion, exemptions, and considerations for identifying those census tracts. 

Which Census Tracts can be Designated as Opportunity Zones? 

  • Low-income community census tracts are the basis for determining eligibility. The definition is the same as that used for the New Markets Tax Credit (NMTC) Program – a low-income community census tract has an individual poverty rate of at least 20% and median family income up to 80% percent of the area median [Section 45D(e)]. 
  • Up to 5% of census tracts that do not meet the definition of a low-income community can be designated under an exemption. Exempt census tracts must be contiguous with low-income community census tracts that are designated as Opportunity Zones, and the median family income of the exempt tract must not exceed 125% of the median family income of the designated low-income community census tract with which it is contiguous. 
Viewed 0 times
Opp360 logo

For full access to our tools and resources, please provide the information below.

We use this data to better understand our users; we do not sell or share this data. By providing this information, you can expect to receive newsletters and other updates from Opportunity360.