Powered by Wells Fargo

Competition Eligibility

A variety of entities are eligible for the Housing Affordability Breakthrough Challenge, including nonprofits, Tribal organizations and mission-driven for-profit entities.

Proposals must demonstrate how the innovation will be executed in at least one of 38 markets – 37 states and the District of Columbia – where Wells Fargo and Enterprise can provide additional resources and support toward implementing and scaling the winning innovations.

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Washington, D.C.
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming
Application Process

Through a three-round competition, winning innovations will be selected by a panel of judges, including leaders from Enterprise, Wells Fargo, and nationally recognized community development and housing experts.

The cohort of winners will be announced in fall 2023 and take part in a multi-year initiative to share ideas and cultivate their innovations into solutions that can be applied in communities across the U.S.

Competition Timeline

January 31-March 3
Round 1

February 2
Informational Web Session

May 9 - June 6
Round 2

August 7-September 1
Round 3

October 9-11
Live Pitch Competition

Week of October 23
Winners Announced

A mother and her son walking down the street smiling
Learn more about the Housing Affordability Breakthrough Challenge