April 9, 2018

First Round of Opportunity Zone Designations Announced


Today, the U.S. Department of the Treasury and the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) designated Opportunity Zones in 15 states and 3 territories – issuing approvals for all states and territories that submitted Opportunity Zone nominations by the March 21 deadline. 

Census tracts in the following states and territories have now been designated as Opportunity Zones, making them eligible to receive Opportunity Fund investments over the coming decade. 

American Samoa | Arizona | California | Colorado | Georgia | Idaho | Kentucky | Michigan
Mississippi | Nebraska | New Jersey | Oklahoma | Puerto Rico | South Carolina | South Dakota 
Vermont | Virgin Islands | Wisconsin

The balance of states and territories are believed to have filed a 30-day extension on March 21, and thus have until April 20 to submit final Opportunity Zone nominations. Stay tuned, and join us for our April 25 webinar where we will be analyzing nominations in select states and discussing what cities, counties, and local governments should consider next. Additionally, we will provide any updates on guidance from Treasury on Opportunity Fund certification should it become available. 

View the full list of designated Opportunity Zones announced today.

Posted in:
Opp360 logo

For full access to our tools and resources, please provide the information below.

We use this data to better understand our users; we do not sell or share this data. By providing this information, you can expect to receive newsletters and other updates from Opportunity360.