January 29, 2020

Celebrating Community: 2019 HOPE SF Visionary Awards

We tip our hat to our partners at the San Francisco Foundation for hosting an extraordinary 2019 HOPE SF Visionary Awards Celebration on Jan. 8, 2020, at the first new building in the Potrero HOPE SF community.  And what a celebration it was!  

The standing room only event was highly representative of HOPE SF and welcomed residents from all four HOPE SF sites – Potrero Hill Annex and Terrace, Sunnydale, Hunters View and Alice Griffith – as well as stakeholders from the full range of community-based organizations, city agencies, philanthropies and other civic partners who support the work and vision of HOPE SF. Attendees were treated to a delicious lunch catered by Radio Africa and Kitchen and to two very special performances by members of the Samoan Community Development Center.

Theo Miller, the Director of HOPE SF with San Francisco Mayor’s Office, served as the master of ceremonies for the event, and he opened the program by introducing Bayview’s own Malik Senefuru, the artist who created the beautiful awards that were handed out to each of the six awardees.  And in true HOPE SF fashion, the awardees also represented the spectrum of HOPE SF.  

The awardees and their presenters were as follows:

Hope SF Civic Leadership Award
Kevin Truitt, Chief, Student, Family, & Community Support Division of SFUSD 
Presented by Theo Miller, Director, HOPE SF, San Francisco Mayor’s Office

HOPE SF Community Advocate Award  
Patsy Tito, Executive Director, Samoan Community Development Center 
Presented by Rena Ilasa

Social Innovation Award
Buddhist Tzu Chi Foundation, accepted by Shirley Leong, Deputy CEO
Presented by Emily Wade-Thompson, Administrator, SFUSD

Community Leadership Award
Natasha Ivory, HOPE SF Resident
Presented by Kendra Crawford, Director of Public Housing and Client Placement, SF Housing Authority

Civic Impact Award
Bob Giloth, Vice President, Center for Economic Opportunity, Annie E. Casey Foundation
Presented by Ellie Rossiter, San Francisco Foundation, and Saidah Leatutufu, HOPE SF, San Francisco Mayor’s Office

Youth Leadership Award
Naim Nash, HOPE SF Resident
Presented by Rodney Freeman, San Francisco Police Department

This year’s awards ceremony was a beautiful celebration of community, in community. Thank you to all who contributed to its success, including all of those who attended.  

For more information on HOPE SF, please visit our website.

Posted in:
Opp360 logo

For full access to our tools and resources, please provide the information below.

We use this data to better understand our users; we do not sell or share this data. By providing this information, you can expect to receive newsletters and other updates from Opportunity360.